Honoring Our Elders

American Indian Library Association Distinguished Service Award

Criteria – Nominees should have demonstrated at least three of the following, over a period of years:

  • Integrity, generosity of spirit, humility, courage, and collaboration;
  • Significant and continuous service to the American Indian Library Association;
  • Remarkable service to Indigenous communities;
  • Exceptional progress in his/her career development that has resulted in specific and extraordinary service to the American Indian Library Association;
  • Outstanding work for the improvement in library and information services for American Indian, And/or Alaskan Natives, and Native Hawaiian people.

Eligibility – Open to all active and retired members of AILA

Past Recipients

  • Janice Rice (2012)
  • David Ongley (2009)
  • Bonnie Biggs (2006)
  • Lotsee Patterson (2003)