Robe De Mariée festklänningar Balklänning

Posts by AILA

AILA and APALA Members Participate in Fun Run at ALA Midwinter in Dallas

Members of AILA and APALA braved the cold to participate in the ALA Midwinter 5k Fun Run early Saturday morning. Team members sported bibs supporting AILA, APALA and JCLC. Pictures courtesy of Florante Ibanez.

American Indian Youth Literature Award Winners Announced

The American Indian Library Association (AILA), an affiliate of the American Library Association, has selected “The Christmas Coat: Memories of My Sioux Childhood” (2011), written by Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve, illustrated by Ellen Beier; “Free Throw” (2011) and “Triple Threat” (2011), both written by Jacqueline Guest; and “Pipestone: My Life in an Indian Boarding School” (2010), written by Adam Fortunate Eagle, as recipients of the fourth American Indian Youth Literature Awards. Four titles were selected as Honor Books in the Picture Book category, two titles were selected as Honor Books in the Middle Grades category and one title was named as an Honor Book in the Young Adult category.

pas la peine de prendre une décision aussi rapide. Avec nombre de styles à choisir, les prix des robes de soirée sont aussi accessibles. Un bon achat n’est pas forcément l’équivalent de la mauvaise qualité. Nous espérons que nous pouvons avoir votre satisfaction au bout de votre achat Robe De Soirée.

Talk Story Grant Applications

Now Accepting Applications for 2012 Grant for Talk Story Program: Apply by February 1

Thanks to the generosity of Toyota Financial Services, Talk Story: Sharing stories, Sharing Culture, grant program is offering two $500 grants to host a Talk Story: Sharing Stories, Sharing Culture program at your library.

Read more →

2012 AILA Emerging Leader Selected

Congratulations to Shannon Rosenbaum for being selected as 2012 ALA Emerging Leader!

The American Indian Library Association (AILA) has selected Shannon Rosenbaum, a member of the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation and a Circle of Learning MLIS candidate at San Jose State University, for the 2012 ALA Emerging Leaders program. As sponsor, AILA provides a stipend of $1,000 to support her attendance and participation in the Emerging Leaders program at the 2012 ALA Midwinter Meeting and Annual Conference. Read more about Shannon.

New Talk Story Sponsor, Toyota

The American Indian Library Association (AILA) and the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) are pleased to announce their new partnership with Toyota Financial Services. Toyota will sponsor the Talk Story: Sharing stories, sharing culture program by providing funding for four mini-grants that will be awarded in early 2012. Read more here.

New Book on Tribal Libraries, Archives, Museums

Loriene Roy and iSchool graduates Anjali Bhasin and Sarah Arriaga are pleased to announce the publication of their edited book, Tribal Libraries, Archives, and Museums: Preserving our Language, Memory, and Lifeways (Scarcrow Press, 2001). Featured contributors include Karen Alexander, Daniel Alonzo, Victoria Beatty, Bonnie Biggs,Shayne Del Cohen, Amelia Flores, Mary Anne Hansen,Kristen Hogan, Christina L. P. W. Johnson, Norma Joseph, Janice Kowemy, Sandra Littletree,Anne McCudden, Kawika Makanani, Cheryl Metoyer, Sam Olbekson, David Ongley, Susan Penfield, Chatherine Phan, Omar Poler, Gabriella Reznowski, Rhonda Harris Taylor, James Thull, Kelly Webster, and Amy Ziegler.
Congratulations Loriene and everyone else who contributed!

AILA Executive Director

Kelly Webster Appointed AILA’s First Executive Director!

Kelly has been an active member of AILA since 1997, and has served as AILA’s secretary (200-2003), executive board member at large (2007-2009), listserv manager (2008-present), membership coordinator (2008-present), Subject Access and Classification Committee Chair (2006-2008), and AILA President (2004-2005). She has missed only one AILA business meeting since 1997! In addition to her service to AILA, she has made significant contributions to the profession at large.

The Executive Director is an ex-officio member of the Executive Board, appointed by the President and approved by the Executive Board, serving a three-year term which may be renewed. Duties include acting as the chief administrative officer of AILA; assisting executive board members in carrying out their responsibilities; serving as membership coordinator; and performing other duties as prescribed by the President or Executive Board.

vilket ger en fräsch känsla frisk balklänning, känner försiktigt dans i händerna på garn, så vacker och fullfärg enda produkt, är det som alla vill ha den perfekta balklänning.

AILA Members Win ALA Council Spots

Congratulations to David Hurley, Zora Sampson, and Holly Tomren who were elected ALA Councilor at Large members.

DEMCO/AILA Travel Grant to ALA Annual 2010 Winners Announced

The American Indian Library Association is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2010 DEMCO/AILA Travel Grant. Thanks to the generosity of DEMCO, AILA will provide financial assistance to four tribal librarians to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference in Washington, DC. Congratulations to this year’s awardees!

AILA/APALA 2011 Talk Story Winners Announced!

The American Indian Library Association (AILA) and the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) are pleased to award $500 grants to the Greenwich Branch of the Gloucester County Library System in Gibbstown, N.J. and the White Mesa Library of the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe in Towaoc, Colo. Each will use its $500 grant to host a Talk Story program at their library. Read the full story.